宋米庚的故事

開端

在博物館表演
在博物館表演
宋米庚是否會成為低音提琴演奏者是不可避免的嗎? 要避免她家中的音樂影響會很難。甚至在她出生之前,她就在聽音樂。她出生前正在聽低音提琴。她的父親宋永石是首爾愛樂樂團的低音提琴手。她的母親崔仁載是韓國國家合唱團的鋼琴伴奏。因此,美京當然很早就開始學習音樂,首先是學習大提琴和鋼琴。她的哥哥敏傑比她大三歲,到美京六歲時已經在彈貝斯。與普通的180厘米(6')相比,楊雪有一個150厘米(5')的特殊低音,由本地制琴師製作,儘管該低音仍然太大,需要敏傑放在一堆百科全書和枕頭上能夠玩。美京10歲時,她決定像哥哥和父親一樣,也開始嘗試低音。

從那以後,生活每天都要花五個小時練習,直到午夜才被消耗掉。就像她之前的哥哥一樣,她的進步很快。她在12歲時與當地樂團進行了自己的第一場獨奏音樂會。一家人在漢城各地一起演奏。美京十三歲的時候,全家人在著名的錦湖藝術廳露面。在後來的幾年裡,她獨自出現在神童和青年藝術家的音樂會上,母親陪伴在鋼琴上。她就讀於善化藝術學校,並隨其管弦樂隊獨奏。隨後的其他音樂會以及韓國音樂比賽的一等獎:巴洛克弦樂團比賽,哈訥姆國家音樂比賽,音樂教育期刊比賽以及韓國低音提琴協會比賽。

宋米庚在約翰尼斯·馬蒂亞斯·斯珀格比賽中獲獎
約翰尼斯·馬蒂亞斯·斯珀格比賽一等獎

2006年,她16歲的弟弟敏傑成為了在德國約翰尼斯·馬蒂亞斯·斯珀格國際低音提琴比賽中獲得第一名的最年輕選手。(第二年,他還將在俄羅斯獲得庫塞維茲基獎。)如果她贏了,2008年,當時15歲的美京本來可以比她哥哥的年齡記錄高出一年,但只能名列第四。兩年後,在舉行斯珀格比賽時,美京更好地控制了自己的神經,最終獲得了第一名,兩個特別獎和一個觀眾獎。她不是有史以來最年輕的,但她仍然是那年最年輕的競爭對手,年僅17歲,也是最矮的。結果,她受到指揮丹尼爾·賴斯金(Daniel Raiskin)的邀請在德國演出了幾場音樂會。

她曾就讀於韓國國立藝術大學預科學校,並最終於2013年在那獲得了音樂學士學位。在那兒,她與父親之外的第一位貝斯老師李浩京一起工作。她的父親很久以來就對孩子的技能水平感到迷惑,他的獨奏曲目比他的父親要先進得多。當然,她也與大學的樂團一起獨奏。

宋米庚和哥哥宋敏傑在KBS1上
出現在KBS電視上

同時,她受邀出現在KBS1(韓國廣播系統)國家電視台上,她是2011年《經典奧德賽》新年特別節目中四位才華橫溢的年輕藝術家之一,此後不久便成為特色節目表演“傑作醜聞”的第一季常規節目中的藝術家,該節目探索了偉大藝術作品背後的隱藏歷史。(在這種情況下,費利克斯·門德爾松和他的妻子范妮兩首歌的真實作者權。)她在平昌山脈音樂節上的表演獲得讚譽。不久,敏杰和美京就在北朝鮮以“ 2Bass”或“ MJK Ensemble”的形式進行音樂會,並舉行了許多室內音樂會,並在主要音樂廳裡演奏。他們還與他們的母親一起在2013年作為一對二人出現在KBS1上,作為經典奧德賽 i>情節的主題,他們接受了採訪並演奏了幾首。

大學畢業後,美京參加了韓國的兩個交響樂團的試鏡,贏得了兩個職位,包括她父親自己的交響樂團首爾愛樂樂團的副校長。但是她仍然夢想著成為一名獨奏家,因此她拒絕了這兩個工作,而是申請了美國的學校進行研究生音樂表演研究。接受世界上音樂精選度最高的音樂學院之一,開啟了她一生的全新篇章.

洛杉磯科爾本學校

洛杉磯的科爾本學校是一所相對年輕的機構,尚未像朱利亞德,伊士曼學校,新英格蘭音樂學院或柯蒂斯學院這樣的東海岸較早的音樂學院廣為人知。科爾本的唯一目標是訓練樂器演奏家成為專業的音樂家,而且非常適合這樣做。在世界一流的音樂家的指導下,幾個精美的音樂廳,一流的練習設施,免費的學雜費,食宿費以及位於洛杉磯愛樂樂團迪斯尼音樂廳對面的市中心,科爾本的學生們被浸入並被包圍,藝術。接受率約為3-5%,只有最好的人才有機會被錄取。然而,即使在那稀有的人群中,美京仍然脫穎而出。

阿莫里斯三重奏
阿莫里斯三重奏

美京第一次獨立,獨自生活在一個新的國家。她開始與彼得·勞埃德一起學習,彼得·勞埃德 在費城樂團演奏了8年,並在明尼蘇達州樂團擔任了21年的首席,並與許多頂級室內樂團合作。她很快成為“績效論壇”的固定主持人,這是每周星期四中午舉行的科爾本儀式的每週一次的儀式,全體教師和學生團體應邀觀看同學的最佳表演,並由老師邀請他們參加表演,隨後在排練廳為所有人提供午餐。她與室友貝斯手蘇慶春和鋼琴手埃洛伊斯·金一起,組成了阿莫里斯三重奏,包括在塞拉馬德雷劇院的一場音樂會。她最終發布了自己的第一個YouTube視頻,與埃洛伊斯·金陪同的格里爾·塔蘭泰拉一起大放異彩,錄製在一個小型的科爾本獨奏會館中,向世界宣告了她在美國土地上的到來作為她作為世界頂級貝司演奏家之一的認真態度。

弗蘭克·普羅托,宋米庚,盧多維克·莫洛特
與弗蘭克·普羅托 和路多維克·莫洛特

她在科爾本給人留下了深刻的印象,在兩個獨立的節目中與科爾本樂團合作演出了海頓和弗蘭克·普羅託的作品(包括海頓和弗蘭克·普羅託的獨奏),其中包括與西雅圖交響樂團音樂總監盧多維克·莫洛特的獨奏音樂會,以及許多獨奏會,以及在績效論壇上出現更多。很快,她與鋼琴家申在敏 合作,標誌著她迄今為止最富有成效的音樂合作。她在YouTube上發布了更多視頻,以其驚人的技巧和音樂水平獲得了即時讚譽。她與弗蘭克·普羅托和阿尼·埃格森等作曲家合作排練他們的作品,然後進行了確定的表演。

同時,她繼續參加比賽:2015年,與埃洛伊斯·金在科羅拉多州舉行的ISB(國際低音藝術家協會)比賽中,博特西尼獲得了托馬斯·馬丁最佳表演獎,並獲得了二等獎。 ;在她的母親的陪同下,2016年參加德國第二屆ARD競賽;得克薩斯州布拉迪奇音樂比賽決賽中的2017年榮譽提名獎,並在申在敏的陪同下,獲得了網絡投票評選的博特西尼第二協奏曲最佳協奏曲獎,她的出色表現令人讚嘆不已美麗的演繹。

宋米庚和申在敏
在科爾本與申在敏表演

在她的日常學習中,她和許多學生一樣上了大師班,不僅有著名的貝斯手,還有大提琴手和小提琴手,例如瓜納里四重奏。這似乎是適當的,因為低音提琴手經常演奏最初為其他樂器編寫的音樂。確實,她越來越強調為大提琴甚至小提琴創作的奏鳴曲,例如門德爾松,勃拉姆斯,格里格,拉赫瑪尼諾夫和弗蘭克的奏鳴曲。她的演奏常常可以與頂級小提琴手或大提琴手的演奏相媲美。與許多學生不同,她的大師班表演通常都經過精湛的技術掌握和音樂表現,這對試圖提供有意義反饋的老師構成了一個有趣的挑戰。

她於2017年春季以藝術家文憑畢業於科爾本,但又住了一年以繼續學習並與申在敏一起表演。

返回亞洲

宋米庚在2018“為期一個月的節日”播客
2018年“為期一個月的節日”的播客

在2018年初,她參加了上海交響樂團的試鏡,並贏得了秋季開始的主要職位。這使她準備返回亞洲(上海距首爾僅兩個小時車程)。2018年夏天,她回到首爾的眾議院音樂會上演出,與鋼琴家申在敏一起參加了2018個月音樂節的音樂會和播客。她演奏了兩場眾議院音樂會,其中第一場包括欣德米斯,門德爾松,法蘭克和拉赫瑪尼諾夫的奏鳴曲。這使她獲得了一些最成熟,最令人滿足的表演,包括博特西尼第二首《悲歌》的深刻震撼的演繹,以及蒙蒂的沙爾達斯的異常豐富多彩的表演,均來自音樂節的閉幕音樂會。

宋米庚與上海交響樂團
與上海交響樂團

在秋天,她加入了上海交響樂團,包括北京紫禁城的音樂會,並在世界範圍內播出,並為德意志唱片公司錄製唱片,以紀念唱片公司成立120週年。她還與紐約愛樂樂團和NDR易北愛樂樂團樂團的成員一起在上海樂團學院任教。在2019年春季,她在漢城與鋼琴家伊利亞·拉斯科夫斯基進行了兩次獨奏音樂會。她還與韓國城南愛樂樂團再次演出了弗蘭克·普羅託的卡門幻想。她於2019年從上海交響樂團和上海樂團學院辭職,專注於她的新家庭和個人事業。

2020年的新肖像
2020年的新肖像
在2019年底,美京開始與她的新管理層春季藝術計劃合作,繼續進行個人表演。

美京演奏5/8尺寸的昆油低音。

Mikyung's Story

Beginnings

Performing in a museum
Performing in a museum
Was is inevitable that Mikyung Sung would become a string bass player? It would have been difficult to avoid the musical influence in her home. She was hearing music even before she was born; she was hearing the bass before she was born. Her father, Youngseog, was a double bassist in the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra. Her mother, Inja Choi, was the piano accompanist for the Korean National Choir. So of course Mikyung started learning music early on, first with lessons on cello and piano. Her brother Minje, three years older, was already playing bass by the time Mikyung was six. Youngseog had had a special 150cm (5’) bass constructed by a local luthier, compared to the normal 180cm (6’), though even that was too large for Minje to play at first without resting on a stack of encyclopedias and pillows. By the time Mikyung was 10, she decided to be like her brother and father, and took up the bass as well.

Life from then on was consumed with practice, five hours a day, often until midnight. Like her brother before her, her progress was swift. She performed her first solo concerto with the local orchestra at the age of 12. The family concertized together all over Seoul. An appearance by the whole family in the famed Kumho Art Hall, when Mikyung was 13, was well received. In later years she appeared there on her own in Prodigy and Young Artist concerts, with her mother accompanying. She enrolled at the Sunhwa Arts School, and of course soloed with its orchestra. Other concerts followed, as did first prizes in Korean music competitions: the Baroque String Ensemble Competition, Haneum National Music Competition, Music Education Journal Competition, and Korea Double Bass Association Competition.

Mikyung Sung winning prize at J.M. Sperger Competition
1st Prize at the J.M. Sperger Competition

In 2006, her brother Minje, then 16, had his first international success by being the youngest contestant ever to win first prize in the International J.M. Sperger Double Bass Competition in Germany. (The next year he would also win the Koussevitzky Prize in Russia.) In 2008, Mikyung, then 15, narrowly missed out on beating her brother’s age record by one year, only managing to place fourth. When the Sperger competition was next held two years later, Mikyung, better managing her nerves, finally took the first prize, as well as two special prizes and the audience prize. She wasn’t the youngest ever, but she was still the youngest competitor that year, at 17, and the smallest. As a result she was invited by conductor Daniel Raiskin to perform several concerts in Germany.

She had enrolled in the Preliminary School of the Korea National University of Arts, eventually earning her Bachelor of Music degree there in 2013. There she worked with Ho-gyo Lee, her first bass teacher besides her father, who had long since become bewildered by his children’s level of skill, so much more advanced in solo repertoire than his own. Of course she soloed with the university’s orchestra as well.

Mikyung Sung with brother Minje Sung on KBS1
Appearing on KBS television

In the meantime, she was invited to appear on KBS1 (Korean Broadcast System) national television, first as one of four gifted young artists on a Classic Odyssey New Year’s special in 2011, and soon after as the featured artist on the first regular season episode of “Masterpiece Scandal,” a show that explored the hidden history behind a great work of art. (In this case, the true authorship of two songs by Felix Mendelssohn and his wife Fanny.) She received praise for her performance at the Pyeongchang Great Mountains Music Festival. Soon Minje and Mikyung were concertizing all over northern Korea as “2Bass” or the “MJK Ensemble,” giving numerous house concerts and playing in major concert halls as well. They also appeared on KBS1 as a duo in 2013, along with their mother, as the subject of an episode of Classic Odyssey where they were interviewed and played several pieces.

After graduating from university, Mikyung auditioned for two orchestras in Korea, winning both positions, including assistant principal in her father’s own orchestra. But she still had dreams of a career as a soloist, so she turned down both jobs, and instead applied to schools in the United States for graduate music performance studies. Acceptance to one of the most selective music conservatories in the world opened up a whole new chapter in her life.

The Colburn School, Los Angeles

The Colburn School in Los Angeles, a fairly young institution, is not yet as well known as older east-coast conservatories like Juilliard, the Eastman School, the New England Conservatory, or Colburn’s closest parallel, the performance-focused Curtis Institute. Colburn’s only goal is to train instrumentalists to be professional musicians, and it is well suited to do so. With world-class musicians as instructors, several fine concert halls, excellent practice facilities, free tuition, room, and board, and a downtown location across the street from the Los Angeles Philharmonic’s Disney Hall, Colburn students are steeped in, and surrounded by, the arts. With an acceptance rate of around 3-5%, only the very best have a chance of admittance. Nevertheless, Mikyung stood out even among that rarified crowd.

Amoris Trio
Amoris Trio

For the first time, Mikyung was independent, on her own, in a new country. She began studying with Peter Lloyd, who had played for eight years in the Philadelphia Orchestra and for 21 years as principal of the Minnesota Orchestra, as well as with many of the top chamber ensembles. She soon became a regular fixture at “Performance Forum,” a weekly Colburn ritual of Thursday noon-time concerts, with the entire faculty and student body invited to watch fellow students at the top of their game who were invited to appear by their teachers, followed by lunch for all in a rehearsal hall. She joined with her roommates, fellow bassist Sukyung Chun and pianist Eloise Kim, to form the Amoris Trio, including a concert at the Sierra Madre Playhouse. She eventually posted her first YouTube video, a blistering run-through of the Gliere Tarantella with Eloise Kim accompanying, recorded in a small Colburn recital hall, announcing to the world her arrival on US soil, as well as her seriousness as one of the world’s top bass virtuosi.

Frank Proto, Mikyung Sung, Ludovic Morlot
With Frank Proto and Ludovic Morlot

She made quite an impression at Colburn, performing solos (of works by Haydn and Frank Proto) with the Colburn Orchestra in two separate programs, including one with Seattle Symphony music director Ludovic Morlot, and giving numerous recitals, as well as more appearances at Performance Forum. She soon teamed up with pianist Jaemin Shin, marking her most productive musical partnership to date. She posted more videos to YouTube, earning instant praise for her stunning level of virtuosity and musicality. She worked with composers such as Frank Proto and Arni Egilsson in rehearsing their works, then giving definitive performances of them.

Meanwhile she continued competing: In 2015, the ISB (International Society of Bassists) competition in Colorado with Eloise Kim, resulting in 2nd place and the Thomas Martin prize for best performance of a work by Bottesini; a 2016 run to the second round of the ARD Competition in Germany with her mother accompanying; and a 2017 Honorable Mention in the finals of the Bradetich Competition in Texas, accompanied by Jaemin Shin, along with the internet-voted prize for best concerto performance of the Bottesini Concerto No. 2, well-earned by her stunningly beautiful rendition.

Mikyung Sung and Jaemin Shin
Performing with Jaemin Shin at Colburn

Along with her usual studies, she engaged in master classes, as so many students do, not only with prominent bassists but also cellists and violinists, such as members of the Guarneri quartet. This seems appropriate, as bassists frequently play music originally written for other instruments. Indeed, she has increasingly emphasized sonatas written for cello and even violin, such as those by Mendelssohn, Brahms, Grieg, Rachmaninoff, and Franck, with performances often rivaling those by top violinists or cellists. Unlike many students, her master class performances would usually be honed to the highest level of technical mastery and musical expression, posing an interesting challenge for teachers trying to give meaningful feedback.

She graduated from Colburn in the spring of 2017 with her Artist Diploma, but stayed around for another year to continue studying, as well as performing with Jaemin Shin.

Return to Asia

Mikyung Sung in 2018 One Month Festival Podcast
Podcast for the 2018 One Month Festival

In early 2018, she auditioned for the Shanghai Symphony Orchestra and won a principal position, to start in the fall. This set her up for a return to Asia (Shanghai being only a two hour flight from Seoul). In the summer of 2018, she returned to playing at The House Concert in Seoul, participating with pianist Jaemin Shin in concerts and podcasts for the 2018 One Month Festival. She played two House concerts, the first including sonatas by Hindemith, Mendelssohn, Franck, and Rachmaninoff. This has resulted in some of her most mature and emotionally satisfying performances yet, including a deeply moving rendition of Bottesini’s second Elegy and an unusually colorful performance of Monti’s Czardas, both from the gala closing concert of the festival.

Mikyung Sung with the Shanghai Symphony
With the Shanghai Symphony

In the fall she joined the Shanghai Symphony Orchestra, including their concert from Beijing’s Forbidden City, broadcast worldwide and recorded for Deutsche Grammophon in honor of the label’s 120th anniversary. She also began teaching at the Shanghai Orchestra Academy, alongside members of the New York Philharmonic and NDR Elbphilharmonie. In the spring of 2019, she performed two recitals with pianist Ilya Rashkovskiy in Seoul. She also performed Frank Proto's Carmen Fantasy once again, this time with the Seongnam Philharmonic Orchestra in Korea. She resigned from the Shanghai Symphony Orchestra and Shanghai Orchestra Academy in 2019 to focus on her new family and solo career.

New portrait for 2020
New portrait for 2020
At the end of 2019, Mikyung began working with her new management, BOM Arts Project, to resume giving solo performances.

Mikyung plays a 5/8 size Quenoil bass.